This post is also available in: Indonesia
Which One is Halal?
Looking for halal/Muslim-friendly products in Japanese stores and supermarkets may be a challenge, as we need to read carefully the ingredients, which mostly are written in kanji, of each item.After a lot of questions and inquiries asking for the halalness of products, we summarize haram and grey zone (still in controversy) ingredients we often find in a product.
Please note that the ingredients listed below are for reference. We do and strongly recommend to do purchase/consume with your own discretion.
Considered Haram Ingredients
|1||豚 or 豚肉||buta / ton / butaniku||pork|
|3||豚脂||buta abura||pork fat|
|buta ekisu / pork ekisu||pork extract|
|5||鶏 or 鶏肉||tori / toriniku||chicken meat (except if there is halal logo pasted on the packages)|
|6||鶏エキス or チキンエキス||tori ekisu /chikin ekisu||chicken extract|
|7||鶏ガラ||tori gara||chicken carcass|
|8||牛 or 牛肉||gyuu / gyuuniku||beef (except if any halal logo pasted on the packages)|
|9||牛エキス or ビーフエキス||gyuu ekisu / beef ekisu||beef extract|
|10||肉||niku||meat (except if any halal logo pasted on the packages)|
|14||ゼラチン||zerachin||gelatin (usually made of lard)|
|15||酒||sake||Japanese traditional liquor (refer to “alcohol beverage”)|
|17||みりん||mirin||sweet cooking rice wine|
Considered Grey Ingredients (Still in Controversy)
For emulsifier with explanation 大豆由来 daizu yurai (soybean-derived) or 植物由来 (plant-derived) may be permissible.
|2||ショートニング||shootoningu||shortening (derived from both animal and plant)|
|3||マーガリン||maagarin||margarine (derived from both animal and plant)|
|5||味噌||miso||miso (Japanese fermented soy bean paste)|
|9||発酵調味料||hakkou choumiryou||fermented seasoning|
|10||アミノ酸||amino san||amino acid|
|11||生クリーム||nama kuriimu||fresh cream|
Supermarket Selling Halal Foods
Some Japanese supermarkets are started to sell halal foods. One the pioneer is Gyomu Super which expands the halal foods to almost all of its branches across Japan.
Besides, there is also one of a large discount supermarket, Rogers, which started to sell halal foods and sweets. The supermarket is popular with its super reasonable price.
If you happen to have a meal at a restaurant but you want to confirm the halalness of the menu/dish there, you can use this guidance sheet (free download) on the link below to communicate with the restaurant staff. This sheet also can be used by the restaurant to confirm customers’ food restrictions.
The sheet is available for Halal, Vegetarian, and Allergies, both in English and Japanese.
Mobile App to Detect Muslim Friendly Product by Using Phone’s Camera!
If you happen to be in Japan, you can use Halal Gourmet Japan app! Take a picture of products and find out which one is Muslim friendly product at a supermarket or convenience store. Find how to use it below.